Skip to content

The first step

June 7, 2009

Everything has to start somewhere (according to a certain school of thought at least), and that includes this blog.

I’ve had it registered for a while now, but held off publishing anything until it was ‘right.’ Which means I have a few half finished blog entries, a banner that I don’t like enough to share, and a message that’s going no further than the My Documents folder on my laptop. Not really the way to communicate with the world now is it!

I do this with a lot of things in my life, and I know I’m not the only one. We sit and wait, with great intentions, planning in great detail the things we’re going to do one day. But life is short, too short for ‘one day’. It’s the lesson I’ve been learning for a while now and the reason I’m about to throw my life up in the air and probably change it forever by working as a volunteer in Botswana for twelve months.

I’ve been saying I’ll do it for years now, “One day, I’m going to go back to Botswana. One day, I’d love to work in Africa.” But I’ve realised that if I don’t do it now, I probably never will. It doesn’t matter what you mean to do in life, what you plan to do. What matters is what you do – how you live your life, the person you are, the lives you touch, the connections you make. Life is too short for “one day…” and “in time…”

The time we have is here and now. That’s what we have to work with. Certainly, plan for the future, put aside savings if you can, make goals, but never loose sight of the fact that today may be all that you get. Life happens and death happens, and if something major were to happen tonight what would you wish you had done today? 

So, here’s my blog, in all its unfinished, nowhere near perfected glory. It’ll get better. I’ll put a banner on it (one day), but for now at least I’ve started it. And the fact that you’re reading it means I’ve done something today – right?

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 1:57 pm

    great first post! you are officially on your blog “journey”-congrats!

    • oneredsock permalink
      June 10, 2009 11:46 pm

      Thanks Robin – now all I need to do is keep going!

Trackbacks

  1. How to: Be the Best (hint – stop trying!) « Tales from the sock drawer

Leave a Reply

