Skip to content

A blue not so true

June 22, 2009

Well, I did it. I told you I was going to dye my hair blue and yesterday, with the help of my very lovely housemate I did it. That is to say, I tried. I bought two bottles of dye, we got out the old towels we don’t care about, the plastic bags and plastic gloves, we put on our old t-shirts reserved for just this situation.  

We were very careful, because it was entirely possible that I’d end up looking like a smurf if it went wrong and that’s not a look I think I can carry off – not even for charity. So we put the dye in, wrapped my hair up in a plastic bag and a towel and then left it to do it’s magic. 

Because my hair was quite dark I knew it wasn’t going to go bright blue. But that’s ok, because I’ve already booked an appointment at the hairdressers so they can do it properly. I’m not going to mess about with bleach myself, but I wanted it blue for Glasto and they couldn’t fit me in before it.

But, as the title to this post suggests, all did not go quite as planned. Instead of slightly dark but essentially still blue hair, I have a kind of weird sludgy grey/green black colour, which may or may not go blue if the light hits it properly. It’s not even very shiny. So we’ll chalk this one up to experience, be grateful that blue dye washes out so easily, and hope the professionals do a better job of it next week. 

Wish me better luck for next time!

(Edited to include images)

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Colonel Sponsz permalink
    June 22, 2009 7:04 pm

    Photos! You know the internet rules: Photos, or it didn’t happen!

  2. June 22, 2009 9:03 pm

    pictures! pictures!

  3. oneredsock permalink
    June 22, 2009 11:58 pm

    haha – ok ok… I’ll post some tomorrow… promise😉

Leave a Reply

