Skip to content

Summertime blues

June 30, 2009

So, I’m back from Glastonbury – which was fantastic! Six days in a field; great friends, good music, crazy dancing, tasty food, endless cups of tea, sunshine, rain, what more could a girl ask for? And after lugging my rucksack around and walking miles and miles every day, as well as all the dancing, I almost feel virtuous from a ‘getting fit for Botswana’ point of view.

So what was the first thing I did when back in the land of non-festival frivolity? (Apart from shower and sleep!) I went to the hairdressers and turned my hair blue of course!

About two years ago I broke my cardinal rule of hair colour – never use a permanent dye. I put a coppery-red on it. Even though I’ve had no problems with dying over that, when I tried to go blue last week my hair was having none of it. Apparently this is because the blue was only neutralising the red. So my very lovely and talented hairdresser (Paula – from Oasis in Headingley) bleached it all for me and then put on the blue (after first checking that I really did want to go through with this, did I?)

The end result is just as I wanted it on the roots (without the legacy red), and then a more sea-green colour over the old red. Moral of the story? Never, never use a permanent dye. End result? Pretty darn blue, and with luck it’ll get bluer as I top it up over the next month.

So what do you think, dear reader? Blue enough for you to sponsor me? Go on… it’s not every day you see a girl walking down the street looking like she should be in a manga book!

ORSafter1bORSafter2b

Bookmark and Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasha permalink
    July 1, 2009 7:01 pm

    I can’t believe you actually did it! It looks awesome🙂

    • oneredsock permalink
      July 2, 2009 11:04 am

      Thanks Tasha. I keep forgetting about it and trying to work out why people are giving me funny looks. I like it though (the colour – not the looks!).

  2. July 2, 2009 12:52 pm

    Wow!

    • oneredsock permalink
      July 2, 2009 6:11 pm

      Told you I was gonna go blue😉

Leave a Reply

