Skip to content

What am I doing?

July 16, 2009
tags:

Well, with only 6 working days left with my current company, I’ve received some more information about what I’ll be doing on my placement! It came last week but what with various goings on I’ve not had a chance to tell anyone about it until now. It’s pretty exciting and everything is beginning to feel more and more real with each passing day.

Part of the purpose of the Exchange Programme, of all voluntary work of this kind, is to help develop local people – not take jobs that could be filled by them. Ultimately, I hope to carve a useful role and then train myself out of it. So the overall work I’ll be doing is “training local staff and parishioners in areas of development, marketing and management of projects in the Church.”

I’ll be developing their internal and external communication base, setting up a Diocesan News Magazine and helping on their website (not currently hosted anywhere but when I get a url I’ll certainly be letting you know!). I’ll also be undertaking some research, working with young people and generally troubleshooting, and entirely possible I’ll be using some of my arts, crafts and music as well, particularly with women and young people.

So there we are – it’ll be a busy, action-packed 12 months! Now all I have to do is finish raising the money and sort my UK life into boxes, and I’ll be all set.

Wish me luck!

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

