Skip to content

Being neither man nor mouse…

September 4, 2009

It’s Friday 4th Spetember. I’m supposed to be in the air right now, on my way to Dubai, where I will change in the small hours of the morning for a flight to Johannesburg. That’s the plan at any rate.

Or at least it was… until about lunch time yesterday when I realised that it really was not a terribly sensible plan.

It would appear that being neither man nor mouse affords one no protection from the waywardness of plans. As some of you may know, several things which really should have been simple and straight forward have proved not to be when it came down to it (little things, like getting a passport for example!).

Nothing truely awful has happened, no-one has died, or been  involved in an accident or anything (and I do now have a passport), but the very short version is that I don’t want to go out feeling like I’ve just done 10 rounds with Tyson and still thinking about what’s going on at home. I want to be refreshed and relaxed, knowing everything here is fine and sorted and I can give all my energy to being in my placement – being present.

I do know I’m meant to go to Botswana and take up the placement, and I fully intend to, and am looking forward to it, but part of doing that effectively is being fully present where I am.

So I’ve delayed the flight. I’m now going in a fortnight, although I’m planning for 10 days, so I have a few spare at the end for contingency – and sleeping!

I’ll keep you posted…

Bookmark and Share

6 Comments leave one →
  1. George Lovely permalink
    September 5, 2009 12:57 pm

    So, you are woman, hear you you roar!

    Get in touch if you need anything xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 5, 2009 7:42 pm

      thanks honey – will do! xx🙂

  2. Kangi permalink
    September 8, 2009 9:19 am

    Hi

    I hope you have a good time in Botswana.
    My friends were telling me that its getting a little bit hot but its nothing to worry about and infact maybe something for you to look forward to. Keep in touch. Will you be based in botswana?

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 12, 2009 1:35 am

      Hey Kangi – yep, I’ll be based in Gabs – really looking forward to it! Great that you’re reading the blog – will definitely be keeping in touch while I’m away. Nearly ready to go – so updates from sunnier climes soon!

  3. Evie permalink
    September 14, 2009 8:34 pm

    You go girl!

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 14, 2009 11:29 pm

      Thanks Evie! Still have those pesky last minute issues to sort, but I think a lot of them are ‘nice to do’s rather than ‘need to do’s… so I refuse to sweat the small stuff. At least, not tonight at any rate😉

Leave a Reply

