Skip to content

Move over ‘Plan A’

September 7, 2009

I started writing this post in a note book in a tea shop in Durham – it’s taken a while to get around to posting it up here, but I still want to put it up.

I was in Durham because I had to go to the passport office to get my passport (many and various were the trials of trying to apply through the Post Office Check and Send service – I recommend training for consistency of checks). For the record, the lady at the Passport Office was lovely – she even let me have the photo I wanted in my passport, rather than the slightly more stern looking one that I thought I’d have to use. I was in the tea shop because I went to uni at Durham and wanted to have a look around the place again.

It’s strange looking at all the things that have changed in the last nine years, and all the things that really haven’t.

When I went to uni, I had a plan. Well… “plan” is probably over-stating it somewhat… I thought I had an idea of where I’d like to end up. Then various things happened and ‘the plan’ changed.

Whilst some of those things were sometimes depressingly out of my hands, I’m glad of them now. I learnt a lot about myself and about life more generally. Interestingly, I also gained time to pursue things I thought I wouldn’t be able to do – including what I’d wanted to do when I was a kid – design.

It feels like my life is a bit like Durham – some parts have changed utterly, some are exactly as they were and still others have moved on in just the way you would think they would. I suppose that’s not unusual for only nine years.

Now I’m about to start a completely new phase of my life, so naturally I find myself reflecting on the past and contemplating the future. I’m heading back towards that ‘plan’ I had when I went to uni. Except that now I know a tiny bit more about myself and the world, so I know it’s not always a terrible thing when things don’t go according to plan.

Bookmark and Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

