Skip to content

Inspiration + action = living

September 14, 2009

Inspriation. It comes in many forms. Sometimes it’s from a view, or a piece of music, sometimes from a throw-away comment, or a gut feeling.

This week has been pretty action-packed. I have:

  • overcome my fear of step ladders
  • boarded half my mum’s loft (fairly sure I’ve never set foot in a non-converted loft before because of that fear)
  • done the hardest bit of my packing (going through my scrapbooking stash to work out what I can reasonably take with me)
  • sorted over 70 boxes (they’re not all mine) – by which I mean gone through and allocated homes to everything in them (charity, workshop, recycling, etc), or labelled them to be dealt with at a more sensible time and stowed them safely
  • discovered that careful labelling of keys does not guarantee you’ll be able to find them in the future
  • removed wasps’ nests (albeit dead ones – but we weren’t 100% sure until I’d actually picked the first one)
  • cleared space in the workshop so that it can actually start to function as such soon
  • played with power tools…
  • …and fire
  • witnessed the start of a new phase in someone else’s life, as well as in my own

Clearly, I haven’t done all this on my own. I had a lot of help, in the form of two people who inspire me enormously. Together, we took action to solve some of the problems stopping us moving on to things we wanted to be doing. We achieved far more this week than I’d have thought possible!

The thing about inspiration is that it demands action. It can be a ‘big’ action, or a ‘little’ action, but there has to be action. I spent years saying, “I want to work in Africa.” That was a dream. It wasn’t until someone inspired me want to stop being someone who talks about things and start being someone who actually does them that I started along my journey of making it happen. I was inspired to be the best I can be, to be fully me – rather than just dreaming about my life, actually living it.

So today I want to ask three things:

  • who inspires you?
  • who do you inspire?
  • what are you going to do about it?

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 11:05 am

    Who inspires me? – Anyone who travels, and explores, and does what they want to do, not what they have to do. And anyone who does the jobs that really deep down we know have to be done, but are not the type of job that you can talk about over the dinner table.

    Who do I inspire? – I don’t set out each day with a mission statement of ‘today I’m going to be an inspiration to…’, but if someone sees what I do and is inspired by it, good for them.

    What am I going to do about it? – Every time I try to type an answer, I keep coming back to the opening sequence of Star Trek: To explore strange new worlds; to seek out new life and new civilizations; to boldly go where no man has gone before [dur de dur dur dur dur…].

    The follow-up question of course, is when been inspired, and you’ve dealt with your inspirations, what next???

  2. oneredsock permalink
    September 15, 2009 12:09 pm

    Wow Alan – great response! I love the Star Trek approach😉
    As for what to do after your inspired action? I wonder if finding inspiration is one of those things that gets easier the more you practise responding to it? I don’t know. I suppose I’m expecting to be further inspired while I’m away – I am hoping to come out of the experience with a clearer understanding of where I’d like to go in life and what I’d like to do, but I’m not expecting that to happen in the next 12 months… It will take a while to process everything – and different bits will mean more at different stages of my life in the future I’m sure.
    I’ve read some of the accounts of previous EEPs and the impact their placements have on them is often profound, and very inspirational to them. I hope it’s like that for me.
    Thanks for commenting🙂

Leave a Reply

