Skip to content

Very Important Decisions

September 16, 2009

I’m not good with too many options… I like my choices to be simple. Do I want tea or coffee? Honey or marmalade? To watch a film or go bowling? These are choices I can make. (Well, ok – maybe I struggle with the first one a bit sometimes.) I understand the context in which the options are provided – I know the implications of each choice, and of no choice, and it’s all good.

I’ve spent a lot of time recently, trying to figure out the best deals of things I know too little about – pre-paid cashcards, insurance, laptops. I couldn’t shake the feeling that each was a Very Important Decision. Which I know is ridiculous – they were relatively significant decisions, but in the grand scheme of things, not that big a deal.

It took a while for me to reach that conclusion. The way I see it, there are some decisions in life that are Very Important. But most of them aren’t, not when you get right down to it. If you make the wrong choice you can normally do something to correct it at some point further down the road. Yes, it might be a hassle, yes it might cost time or money or pride, or any combination of the three – but you can change it.

Only the ones that cannot be changed are really Very Important Decisions. They’re the ones that shouldn’t be rushed (though often feel like they have to be), the ones where you should seek true counsel (even if you know you don’t want to hear it), the ones where you take your courage in both hands and pray you’re doing it right. You might not. Sometimes, you make a wrong decision at a time when it really really matters. It happens. All you can ever do is make the best choice you can at the time. After that you have to let it go and deal with what comes out of it.

Fortunately, Very Important Decisions don’t come around nearly as often as we let ourselves believe.

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 3:57 pm

    Bowling🙂

Leave a Reply

