Skip to content

Dumela!

September 21, 2009

I am here! At very long last, and with the help of many many people, I’m finally here.

The journey was long but very smooth, I even managed to get some sleep on the flight from Dubai. I was met at the airport and taken to where I’m now staying. The house is quite big and I have my own little annex – it’s very comfortable, with my own bedroom, bathroom and even little sitting room! The weather’s warming up quickly but I’ve still needed a jacket for the last couple of days, so it’s a nice way to ease into the heat.

Yesterday was the celebration of the holy day for the cathedral – Holy Cross (Holy Cross day was on Monday 14th). We had a big family service followed by a feast after church, hosted by the Mother’s Union. Lots of good food and good cheer, and so very many people for me to meet! There was also a concert in the evening from a local choir. They were great, so I hope to go and hear them again next weekend. See? I must be settling in if I’m starting to put things in my diary.

Today I have met most of the people in and around the office, who will be my colleagues for the next 12 months. They too are all very friendly, and there’s a lot of laughter around. Over the next few days and weeks I’ll get a better understanding of what I will be working on, but I’ve already started reading about a lot of very interesting work that’s going on. I’m looking forward to becoming a part of it.

I’m not sure when I’ll next be able to write an update, but I hope it’ll be soon (and maybe even include some pictures! You never know our luck…).

Bookmark and Share

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:36 pm

    ello! good to hear you made it ok. looking forward to the first photos.

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 22, 2009 3:17 pm

      Cheers Chris🙂 Will be taking the camera out and about this weekend. (Will just need to figure out how to get the pics off there onto here after that hey.)

  2. Rob permalink
    September 23, 2009 2:45 pm

    Great to find this blog. See you out there soon.

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 23, 2009 3:58 pm

      Hey🙂 Great to see you Rob. Hurry up and get out here – you’ll love it!

  3. Rob permalink
    September 24, 2009 10:47 am

    Not long now. Looking forward to it.

  4. Louise permalink
    September 24, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hello! Great to hear you made it there safely and all is well, look forward to seeing some pics! Keep us updated x

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 25, 2009 7:11 am

      Hi Lou, thanks for stopping by. I’ve started taking pictures I’m just trying to work out how to get them onto the computer now. Rest assured there will be some soon!

Leave a Reply

