Skip to content

Hero

December 7, 2009

Yesterday I had one of the most exciting moments of my entire life. I had the very great privilege to meet someone I have admired for as long as I can remember. He is one of the greats, an Elder – a true hero – an inspiration to millions. And he shook my hand and greeted me with genuine warmth and interest. As I sat in the VIP lounge at Botswana Airport and listened to him chatting and laughing with old friends, I couldn’t believe where I was. I was struck by the power and strength and humour and humanity that is Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu.

This morning, one of my colleagues and I went as guests of Bishop Mwamba to hear Archbishop Tutu give a keynote address to this week’s international conference on ethics, hosted by the University of Botswana, ‘Retrieving the Human Face of Science: Understanding Ethics and Integrity in Healthcare, Medicine and Research.’
It was wonderful. I knew this year was going to be filled with amazing experiences, but never in my wildest dreams did I think they would include an event like this. I never imagined I could be lucky enough to be in the same room as the Archbishop, never mind actually talk to him! But lucky I am… and here’s the picture to prove it.

Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, me and Joseph Lockridge

Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu, me and BOTUSA's Joseph Lockridge, who was even more excited than I was!

Bookmark and Share

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Margaret Wetterling permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:20 am

    I’ve been at the Botswana airport many times (Sir Seretse Khama) and never knew there was a VIP area. Guess I didn’t qualify! I love Botswana though. What a great country.

    • oneredsock permalink
      December 8, 2009 9:04 am

      Hi Margaret,
      Thanks for stopping by and for commenting🙂 Yes – Botswana is beautiful – I’m really enjoying my time here. You’ve reminded me that I should have written Gaborone Airport – we have quite a few of them here now! And they’re expanding at the moment – a whole new terminal opening next year, ready for World Cup 2010.

  2. December 8, 2009 11:10 am

    Botswana airport looks more like an Apple Store in this pic! Seriously cool photo!!!

    • oneredsock permalink
      December 8, 2009 11:55 am

      Yeah – I wish I could take credit for it, but that goes to Iulus_Ascanius (and the wonderful world of Creative Commons – which at some point I’ll read more about and decide if I want to do).

  3. December 9, 2009 10:27 am

    That is one of the happiest photos I’ve seen. You can almost feel your excitement!

    • oneredsock permalink
      December 9, 2009 1:55 pm

      I actually ran out of words!😀

Leave a Reply

