Skip to content

Family Festive

December 17, 2009


I just got an email from Amanda at The Studio saying, “Wow. Only 9 more sleeps until Christmas!”

After I picked myself up from the floor, I started to think. This Christmas has snuck up on me like no other (not counting the ones my parents probably ‘hid’ for me when I was younger and prone to getting entirely too excited about such things – yeah, last year).

We’ve been so busy in the office over the last few weeks, planning and then finally delivering Synod this weekend just gone. I’ve not had time to think about anything else really – much less do anything about it!

I have managed one thing though. I helped decorate our Christmas tree.

It seems odd to me that there are ‘pine’ trees around, and little ‘holly’ wreaths, and adverts on the tv with snow on them! Who ever thought that would be a good idea in the southern hemisphere?! We’re moving into summer proper now – it was 34ºC today (I think that about 97 in old money). So many ‘traditions’ here have been imported. That said, I hear Gaborone will be quiet over the Christmas break because, in keeping with tradition, everyone goes back to the moraka (cattle post) to celebrate.

The theme of Synod this year was ‘Who we are as Anglicans.’ Over the coming years, we hope to go back to basics and focus on the heart of what we believe as a Church and to cement those things that tie us together as a ‘family.’ It will be interesting to experience Christmas so far away from my family this year. It makes me very aware of how lucky I am to be able to use a phone or Skype to reach them. So this Christmas, I propose a toast to technology, and the ability to reach out and share with loved ones – blood kin, or married in, or not. And if you know of someone who’ll be spending Christmas away from family this year, why not invite them to share it with you?

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Seana Gladwin permalink
    December 21, 2009 4:45 pm

    Hey honey, hope you have a lovely Christmas, far away though you are! Know that you are in our thoughts, and we are proud of you and miss you lots! Love you loads, Seana xxx

    • oneredsock permalink
      December 21, 2009 5:41 pm

      Hey Seana!
      Thank you hon🙂 I have a feeling it’s going to be pretty quiet, people have started warning me how quiet! We have two and a half weeks off, so I’m hoping to get out and about a bit, maybe even down to Cape Town for a few days to hook up with a fellow EEP.
      I hope you have a lovely (and relaxing!) break – don’t forget Dr Who! (But I don’t want to hear what happens…) xx

Leave a Reply

