Skip to content

Where to go now?

January 15, 2010

As you might have picked up from here and on Twitter, we’re starting to plan the strategy of the Diocese for the next 5 years or so, so we can plan the activities we’re going to do, so that we can plan the communications we’re going to use to support it all.

It’s a pretty tall order, there’s a lot to be done, and there are many challenges here, but I’m excited! There is some really inspiring work going on here in Botswana, and we have a great opportunity to consolidate and build on it in the next few years. I’m looking forward to sharing more about it with you – once we get it confirmed! Our first deadline is a week on Monday, for our first Standing Committee meeting. We have a new committee, lots of ideas and some real passion to get things moving. I’ll keep you posted.

Since I’m in a planning phase, I’m also thinking about where I’d like this blog to go, and the reasons I started it in the first place. I did what you probably shouldn’t do; start with a rough idea, rather than a proper plan. But it turned out to be the best thing for me. I’m big with the perfectionist tendencies, so I normally end up with a bunch of ‘nearly there’ projects rather than anything I want to make public.

My main goals were:

  • to update all the people who so generously gave me the money to be here on what I’m actually doing with it, and
  • to share some of the good news stories about all the wonderful work that’s going on over here (as part of my mission to combat the notion that ‘Africa is a terrible country,’ so firmly held in many western minds).

After that, I didn’t have much of a plan, although I had some ideas… like the fact that I’d like to find some guest bloggers to tell their accounts of life in Botswana, or focussing on particular topics, or even writing reviews. They’re coming by the way – I have a couple lined up, and I’m hoping to find a few more in the next few months. I hope to share contributions from some of my fellow EEPs – some of that is in the pipeline too. And of course – I couldn’t very well come out to Botswana without ‘doing safari’ – which means photography. I’m collecting a lot of other things too though – flowers, special events, general every day life.

Currently in the pipeline…

Well, I’m working over on Flickr to put larger collections of photos up than is sensible here. When I have something uploaded there will of course be a proper link😉 (No – I’m not going to wait until it’s perfect before I share it!) There are some random images over on Twitpic, the don’t-really-warrant-a-blog-post-but-are-pretty-cool-non-the-less ones.

I’m also entering a competition over on BitRebels to win free hosting (from WordPress Web Hosting or Layer Online) and a Digital Product Delivery system, any of which I hope will help make the site more interesting, and enable you to get a little bit more out of it. And just to tease you about something else I’m planning… I’m also trying for a prize from the lovely people at MOO… So fingers crossed please!

Over to you!

But what I really want to know now is what you, dear reader, would like to see here? Which have been your favourite posts? What do you want to read more about? Which posts do you just skip altogether? What can I do to make this blog your ‘must visit’ site of the week?

Leave your comments below, of if you’d rather keep it between ourselves email at oneredsock(at)hotmail(dot)com.

And don’t forget, you can sign up to receive future posts straight to your inbox. Simply click the button at the top right of the page and fill in your address.

Ps If anyone has any tips on how to use PayPal to gain donations without having them take at least 3.4% + 20p back in fees, do let me know!

Bookmark and Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    January 16, 2010 12:40 pm

    i’d like to hear more about day-to-day life, what the challenges are, and how you are approaching them…

  2. oneredsock permalink
    January 16, 2010 4:06 pm

    Thanks for the feedback Chris. I think you’re right – I need to get a little braver talking about those things. I’ll see what I can do.

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: Reflections from the Philippines « Tales from the sock drawer

Leave a Reply

