Skip to content

9 Good Reasons to Carry an Umbrella

January 28, 2010

I’m really glad I bought an umbrella at the weekend! You could tell this storm was coming, but my goodness did it arrive! This is the rain I remember as a child…

Reasons 1-9

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 8:13 am

    the rain has been the same, or similar here, its great to see it though, the people here had been waiting for 3 months. they store it in giant tanks and use it for drinking water, the tanks were empty and they were using water from the well, which is sea water soaked into the ground i think

  2. oneredsock permalink
    January 30, 2010 11:45 am

    Sea water… tasty… I assume it’s filtered somewhat by the ground?

    I remember waiting for the rains when I was a kid. We had a long drought – 2 years when we left, but it didn’t rain for another 3 after that either! In the fleeting moments when it did come it was so brief there was no point trying to collect it – we just danced in it instead! The Setswana word for ‘rain’ is ‘pula’ – the same as ‘blessings’. I think that says it all.

    I’m glad the rains have come for Tonga!🙂

Leave a Reply

