Skip to content

I’m not dead

April 4, 2010

Hi.

Thanks for coming back and checking, and thank you for the emails/twitter messages🙂 It’s ok though – I’m good.

The last month has been pretty manic. Full of good things (mostly) but full is definitely the operative word. My mum and brother came out to visit, so I went ‘off grid,’ to a wonderful place called Mosetla Bush Camp in Madikwe, a reserve just the other side of the border in South Africa. I’ll be writing more about them and adding in links and what not, but for reasons I shall explain shortly I need to be brief right now… Then we went to Kharma Rhino Sanctuary, in Botswana, then much running around the Gabs area, a visit to Stevensford in Tuli Block and a trip on the Limpopo. It was wonderful.

Once my brother left (actually half way through that lot so unfortunately he didn’t get to see it all), I went back to work while my mum stayed here. She caught up with old friends and old sites, enjoyed herself immensly and even volunteered to help us with some filing! At the end of the three weeks, just in time for my boyfriend to arrive, my mum went home and I’d completed the Strategy document to a level where the first official stage of consultation can begin!

I’m really proud of the Strategy. It’s taken a lot of thought, not just about what we should be doing, but how to create something that will be used, rather than flicked through and put on a shelf. I’m aware I’ve not really told you much about it yet, but don’t worry – it’s in the pipeline.

Now I’m about to drive back to Stevensford. I’m having a well deserved rest for the duration of the boyfriend’s visit, and we’re wandering up and down the country for a couple of weeks. We’ve been at Mokolodi, the little reserve near Gabs – and just driving too and from our chalet saw all maner of exciting beasties! (Including a Kudu taking shelter from the rain in our parking space!) Now we’re heading away from the bright lights of the city, to the bush, the stars, the wildlife and the great grey green greasy Limpopo!

I learnt last time that there’s no signal there, so I won’t be able to update this for a little while, but I will have a lot of time for writing – so when I come back, there will be posts! I promise!

Happy Easter! See you soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    April 6, 2010 1:30 pm

    glad to hear you are not dead !!
    should have given us more warning, we’ve dispatched someone to come look for you😉

  2. Alan permalink
    April 10, 2010 4:19 am

    Good to hear from you! I’ll be heading your way soon🙂

  3. oneredsock permalink
    April 18, 2010 12:41 pm

    Looking forward to it Alan! Sorry about the lack of warning Chris (and everyone else!). I’m back now though, so hope business as usual will resume shortly😉

Leave a Reply

