Skip to content

Permits, cash, peace, love and goodnight

May 19, 2010

So I was going to write a really well crafted post about something really cool that really gave a feel of what’s going on and what I’m doing, or else perhaps something about culture, or that makes you think really deeply about something… and it was going to be really good, because, you know, I’ve been doing this for a while now and I really ought to be getting good – and I have loads of ideas of different things to blog about and lots of nice little half sentences, which are really beautifully put together, and would be really inspiring and make you want to leave a comment or retweet it to your followers or email a link to your mum or may even subscribe to the feed, but then I got busy again with a real life that means I need to do stuff and use my brain so it doesn’t work so well in the evening when I’m trying to write. But that was ok, because I was still doing stuff for my blog – I was reading a lot of really cool blogs with well established voices and a sense of humour and generally really inspiring writing. That has to count for something, right?

And then I got publishing anxiety, which I have over this post too but I know I need to just do it! So I’m going to tell you what I need to tell you and then I’m going to Alpha, and then I’m going to go home and eat my dinner and get an early night* and hope that tomorrow my brain works properly enough to start doing something about the schedule of posts that I have all planned out – like, perhaps, start writing them!

So here’s my news.

My Residency Permit came through. Which means I have permission to stay in Botswana until the end of September. No more running around trying to get forms filled or copies certified or writing yet more letters. No more wondering whether I really ought to be wrapping up what I’m doing, just in case, no more wondering whether maybe I wasn’t meant to be here for the full year and maybe I should be leaving soon. Because on top of that coming through I think I have now raised most of the money I need to fund the whole year. By ‘raised’ I mean been given – by you, wonderful supporters who have been so generous to me and who send me emails and letters and cheques and PayPal requests and all sorts!

Thank you. Really truely. You haven’t ‘just’ put food in my mouth and warm clothes on my back, a pen in my hand and a book in my lap** – you’ve also given me confidence that I’m not just here for myself, I’m here for a reason. And when I get feedback comments like “this strategy helped me understand how to be a better Christian”^ I get an idea of what part of that reason is. It’s not for me.

Thank you.

*yeah right!
**surprisingly, that’s not one of the beautifully put together half
sentences I’ve been planning – that one just appeared from no-where.
^for real!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alan permalink
    May 19, 2010 6:13 pm

    That’s very good news indeed, on all counts. Hope the presenting of the grand plan is going as smoothly as possible🙂 See you again soon!

    • oneredsock permalink
      May 20, 2010 10:14 am

      We had a potential hic-up at the weekend, but it’s all good and buy-in is excellent at this stage. Still all draft though, so I can’t share just yet… but it’s nice to know I’m allowed to stay – might get to see it adopted before I leave!🙂

  2. May 20, 2010 7:26 am

    such good news!! now the pressure is off and you can just “be present” to what GOD is doing…

    • oneredsock permalink
      May 20, 2010 10:19 am

      Yeah – it’s definitely a weight off my mind – two in fact! As you say – being present is now the order of the day. I’m excited to see what else is in store…

Leave a Reply

