Skip to content

Scrapped: Sunset

July 2, 2010
The sky at sunset in Gaborone, Botswana, November 2009

As some of you know, I like scrapbooking.

Since I’ve been here I’ve been somewhat limited with physical scrapping (couldn’t bring much with me, though some supplies came through the post which was fab!) so I have instead been working on my digital scrapping skills. To be honest, I still don’t find it as satisfying as ‘real’ scrapping – I like the textures, and surrounding myself with bits and bobs of things to play with… but it is nice to be able to do a full layout in just a few hours.

Since my macbook died before I came, I’ve not had access to Photoshop – which has somewhat cramped my designer style, so I’ve been learning to use Gimp instead. I have not been a ready convert, but over the last few months we appear to have reached something of an uneasy truce. I know there are loads of tutorials out there, and I will look at them at some point, but they’re mostly video, which isn’t all that useful over a slow connection with a download limit. If you’re looking for a free program for your scrapping then you could do a lot worse than Gimp.

Yesterday was a bank holiday, in honour of Sir Seretse, the first President of the Republic of Botswana. So I spent a bit of time looking through some of the photos I’ve taken since I got here. Here’s a double page layout I finished. What do you think?

Supplies used:

All photos taken by me,  on a Panasonic DMC-FS12

Layout arrange in Gimp.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mr Troll permalink
    July 22, 2010 1:14 am

    Not bad Gimp work there😉 . . . Perhaps there is hope for you yet Grasshopper . . .

    • oneredsock permalink
      July 22, 2010 10:03 am

      Why thank you Mr Troll.😛

Leave a Reply

