Skip to content

Back home

August 24, 2010

I’m back in the UK, sitting on my mum’s (very comfy) sofa in my (not quite so comfy) cast, splint and corset, eating cheese and yoghurt and ice-cream (not all at once) and trying my best to heal my little ol’ self back to healthy.

In spite of having my return flight pushed back by 24hrs not once but twice, I still feel as though my exit from Botswana was somewhat rushed. I suppose that’s only to be expected really. I did manage to have a wonderful Leaving Lunch at Sanitas (one of my favourite places to eat in Gabs) the day before I left. So many people were able to come – good friends, good food, and real sunshine! It was so good to be able to say goodbye properly, even if it was only semi-properly.

After a very smooth journey home (in Virgin Upper Class no less*, courtesy of my fabulous insurance company – Insure and Go – don’t ever ever ever think of going abroad without proper repatriation insurance – y’hear me?) I arrived at the Orthopaedic Trauma Clinic half an hour after they all disappeared off upstairs to theatre. Which was a shame, but not a disaster. After a weekend of drastically reduced medication and elevating my leg, we went back the following Monday and 5 hours later I had a new cast** on my now much less swollen leg, (unutterably more comfy than the old one!), a whole bunch more x-rays and another fracture found on my right wrist, which brings my tally to four (ankle, spine, wrist and nose). Fortunately, because it was 3 weeks old by then, the Dr decided a splint will suffice and I don’t need a cast on that too! (I got the distinct impression it would have had one otherwise.) And I didn’t have to pay a bean. God bless the NHS.

So I’m doing ok. Eating broccoli^  in the sunshine^^ whenever I can (which, unsurprisingly, isn’t all that often), and slowly trying to build my concentration levels again. Who knew building bones took so much brain power? I miss my friends in Botswana, I miss the sunshine, and the work, but it’s good to be home too.

I have a lot of pieces to pick up, but I had a plan of posts I was going to do about things in Botswana, so I’ll try to get some of those up here over the next few weeks, and I *really* want to get some photos up! I have about 90 squillion to go through but I also haz fast internets now😉 I’m also going to try to start working out how to get around and start seeing people again – but that’s going to have to wait until I’m a bit more mobile.

Take care of yourselves. And remember – please – don’t take chances with your insurance!

*”Would Madam like a glass of champagne?” Why yes, I think Madam would.
**That’s number 3 if anyone’s counting.
^High in calcium.
^^High in Vitamin D – needed to absorb calcium.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    August 24, 2010 11:33 am

    Broccoli isn’t bad, but as far as sources of calcium go, you’re better off eating spinach and drinking orange juice (even non-fortified versions, although, obviously, you might as well have fortified). Apart, from milky sources, which are still the best when it comes to calcium content ( eat many bowls of cereal), don’t neglect your protein intake either, now you can get about a bit more.
    More importantly, take generic combined vitamin and mineral suppliments too – they don’t always stick, but they’re cheap, and it can’t hurt.
    So, you’re thinking ‘Wow. Nutrition advice from a man who suvives mostly on fags and booze…’ True, but riddle me this – I’m rarely ill, heal like the bastard child of Wolverine and manage to still be fitter and stronger than most of my friends despite minimal exercise. And I don’t eat dairy products. I don’t really eat that much fruit and veg either. So, despite what middle-class foody-fetish temple-bodied must-have-the-words-natural-and-organic-on-it-or-it’s-intrinsicly-evil cobblers you might hear, eating things that have fortified minerals and vitamins in them and swallowing the odd vitamin and mineral tablet now and again really can help you when you need it.
    Anyway, glad you’re getting better. ‘Repatriation insurance’ sounds like some new Tory immigration initiative. (Yes, I do know what it actually is, before anyone feels the need to tell me). ‘Barrington Smythington-Diddleybum today anounced the new conservative stance on immigration. Asylum seekers will now have to pay twelve thousand pounds in repatriation insurance before they can apply for asylum, should thier claim fail and transport and legal costs need to be recovered. “It’s only fair to the British taxpayer”, said
    Smythington-Diddleybum, MP for Little Mantreadington south. “If they can’t afford it, then how are they going to afford to live here afterwards? If thier claims were genuine, they’d find somewhere to get the money from, after all, finding money is just a matter of hard work and determination. That’s what my grandfather told me when I was nine years old and he gave me my first factory, and it’s as true now as it was then.” We here at the Daily Mail couln’t agree more.’

    • August 24, 2010 11:48 am

      Another day, another step towards independence from Westminster and Prime Minister Coco-Bananas.

    • August 24, 2010 8:21 pm

      Hehehehe… Laughter is the best medicine🙂 Thanks Steve! And I was informed this evening that it’s iron not Vit D that I need to absord calcium, so spinach and steak with OJ and multi-vits it is. (Except not tonight coz we’re having a curry. Real proper curry! Woohoo!)

  2. August 24, 2010 6:03 pm

    May you heal quickly and well! Sending good vibes🙂

    • August 24, 2010 8:23 pm

      Thanks Becky. I’m loving following your adventures on your blog! Thanks so much for them🙂

  3. August 25, 2010 9:00 am

    What a shame your Botswana trip was cut short in such a way. Best of luck with whatever you do next!

  4. Seana Gladwin permalink
    September 7, 2010 7:48 am

    I haven’t been keeping up with your blogs for a while (work’s been crazy busy), so just heard you’re back! Such a shame your trip was cut short like that, but at least you’re alive! Hope you’re healing well, and hope to catch up with you soon. Love you babes xxx

    • oneredsock permalink
      September 23, 2010 10:21 pm

      Thanks honey! I’ve not been keeping up with it really either… Hope work’s good as well as crazy. Hope to see you soon – still trying to work out when I can get to your neck of the woods. Hopefully not too long… xx

Leave a Reply

