Skip to content

Stepping up a gear

September 24, 2010
My leg in a bag, ready for a shower

Yesterday was a pretty big day. I turned a corner.

Last week I went back to the hospital to have my cast taken off. It was a big deal. At last! Freedom returned! I would be able to walk, to have a shower without putting a bag over my leg, to go up and down stairs. On. My. Own! I would be able to carry a cup of tea! You try doing that whilst wielding crutches in both hands. It would be bliss!

I was so excited. I spent a week planning my Post-Cast Shopping Trip… a dress, a pair of black jeans and a pair of boots. I’ve had my eye on them all, hoping they don’t sell out before I have my cast off and can try them on. I was looking forward to this more than I look forward to my birthday. And if you haven’t guessed by now, that’s a lot!

Cutting the cast off

Cutting the cast off

Once the cast was off I looked down at my leg. It felt weird; it was a funny colour and it wouldn’t obey me. I thought “Toes: point” and they all sat there, looking cheerfully up at me. “We can wiggle,” they said. “We’re good wigglers us.” “Any wiggling you want done – we’re the wigglers you want!” But they wouldn’t point.

Then my Dr arrived, and after a quick examination and a little chat informed me in a very calm and efficient manner that I would be having another cast put on. This one should only be for two weeks, and I should walk on it. I tried very hard not to be upset. It took a long time before I managed it.

So I made up my mind that this would be the very last time. When I go back at the end of the fortnight I will be walking normally and there will be no reason for me to have another cast. At all.

And yesterday I managed it. I started walking. Really walking. Without crutches or holding onto furniture or anything! Wednesday I couldn’t do it, Thursday I could. Simple as that.

My leg in a bag, ready for a shower

My AquaShield! AKA Bagleg

I am very excited. I can go up and down the stairs without feeling like I’m about to launch myself down them head first. I can carry cups of tea! I still need to ‘bag up’ for a shower but what’s a little polyurethane between friends? I’ve been inventing reasons to walk around the house, and had a big ol’ amble through town. It’s not exactly a graceful glide, more of a lumbering lurch, but that’s not the point. Slowly and surely I’m getting back to where I was before all this happened. It’s taking time, but this is my first real concrete proof that it’s happening.

Now all I need to do is find a bag small enough that I can’t put too much stuff in it for my back, and I’ll be well along my little stepping stone path to my version of normality!🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 3:19 pm

    Wooo hoooo congrats hunny, Really Fab.

    Although I was kind of looking forward to seeing a recreation of one of those Bible network/Prophet T B Joshua moments. You know the one where the person can’t walk and then through the power of prayer they throw their crutches to the ground and start walking.

    But I’ll settle for a hobble to town and back ;-P

    God bless hun, really pleased for you !!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

